More people is moving to the big city to live and work. What are the reasons and results of this trend?

The more the world developed and modernized, the more people prefer to move to the urban area for living. There are a variety of reasons together with consequences for this tendency that shall be discussed in this essay. One of the major reasons related to this is that the career prospect for younger people in the metropolitan area is higher than the rural. Because of the increasing infrastructure, most companies are located in the big cities, meaning that they tend to hire from the local area. Moreover, the quality of public services such as police, hospitals, and schools is much higher in the urban area. These factors play a key role in a person’s level of comfort, which highly motivates the village people to move to urban areas. This tendency no doubt has some consequences. The increase in population in the urban area translates into several problems, namely traffic jams, air and water pollution, lack of accommodation or amenities. In addition, the community that has worked in the agriculture business moves to the city, which leads to a shortage of food sources. I believe government and society should take actions to mitigate the potential problems. In conclusion, I believe shifting people from the villages toward the big cities raised some benefits together with challenges. Government should provide solutions to reduce the negative impacts of this tendency and increase the standard of living in rural areas.