arranged marriage or love marriage

Marriage is an important social institution. The question is that whether arranged or love marriage is better. Personally, I find the latter way of thinking more convincing. First and foremost, security and stability seem to be the most valued things looked for in arranged marriage, while looking for a partner for their son or daughter, parents will first check whether they share the same background, socio-economic status, level of education, or not. Another concern to consider is the fact that sometimes the daughters or the sons feel a strong sense of obligation and duty to their parents. They are compelled to accept their parents’ choice of their spouses, to do otherwise is perceived to be disrespectful and a betrayal to the whole family. Love marriage seems impeccable on the surface. F. Scott Peck once said: ‘Love is not effortless. It is effortful’; therefore, love marriage requires such achievement to sustain a happy life. In the first place, the romantic feelings in the first few months will only stay for a short period. When the honeymoon stage is over and the mundane realities have set in, people begin to feel dissatisfied, wondering if their partner still loves them. More importantly, people have no clue to blame for anyone if their marriage does not work out perfectly, which means they have no choice but to take full responsibility for their decision. In contrast, one might enter an arranged marriage with much lower expectations and everything work out immediately. In summary, both arranged and love marriages have their own strengths and faults. From my viewpoint, there is no perfect formula to make a marriage work, it's up to each person’s wish and opinion.