More dad's are staying at home looking after children. is this a positive or negative development.

In present times, more and more women have become breadwinner for their family while their husbands choose to stay at home looking after kids. In my opinion, this is a negative development due to its detrimental effects on growth of a newly born child and also increased societal pressure for father. Firstly, mothers as a breadwinner in the family puts tremendous pressure on them to earn the livelihood. Since they are the only one to earn in the family, its very difficult for them to handle tough times in the family such as birth of a new born baby. Although, they can avail maternity leave, but they have to soon resume their work in order to handle family responsibilities. Furthermore, new born babies need a special care and emotional connection in the starting days which can only be fulfilled by mothers. Consequently, it will have a negative effect on the development of a child. For example, a recent study conducted by a child care center presents that new born babies are likely to get free from any disease after their birth when they spend enormous time with theory mothers. Moreover, results of the reversal of natural roles, which is staying at home for the mother and handling household responsibilities for the father, can sometimes be counterproductive. This is because financial dependency of men on their wives in the family can hit their self-esteem, resulting into a disturbed harmony between the family members. Also, it will have a bad impact on society as society will take it as the incapabilitty of man to earn money. In conclusion, while mothers can handle the financial responsibilities of a family by their own, it can sometimes be stressful for them and also it has a bad impact on newly born child which can not be overlooked.