Encouraging people to use public transport is the best way to solve traffic problems in cities. What other measures do you think might be effective?

There are many cities around the world that have a population of more than 10 million, population is directly proportional to the traffic. Authorities everywhere are struggling to come up with the effective measures to counter the vehicular congestion. I partially agree with the statement, encouraging the people to use public transport could yield some results, but there are few other methods that could effectively ease the traffic on the roads. Apart from the use of public transport, the government should encourage ride sharing and it has to provide the incentives to the companies that offer carpooling services. Corporations have to provide the cab services to their employee’s and it will encourage them to stop using their own vehicles to reach the office, if the companies can’t afford it, they should at least allow employees to work from home. Authorities should restrict people in the cities from buying new cars by increasing the vehicle prices. Singapore is a perfect working example, since it is a small country and doesn’t have enough land for ever increasing population, Singaporean government ramped up the cost of all the personnel vehicles exponentially, that sharply reduced the number of cars coming on to the streets. Cost of a small hatchback in Singapore is almost same as buying a big sports utility vehicle in western hemisphere. To conclude, apart from inspiring the citizens to use public transport, there are many other ways that could be helpful in reducing the overall numbers and congestion. Sticking to just one method doesn’t give provide desirable results, it has to be the combination of multiple solutions.