more companies have open working areas without walls or barriers in their decks. Do the disadvantages of open-plan offices outweigh the advantages?

In our modern society, a plethora of enterprises are having workspace without walls and barriers between each desk. From my own perspective, the benefits of open-plan offices overshadow its drawbacks. It is undeniable that the open office plans have numerous negative aspects. One of the prominent demerits of the increase of open office concepts is noise pollution, causing distraction among workers. This might be explained the fact that in a number of companies, the majority of office staffs, especially introverted people, demand a calm setting which enables them to brainstorm novel ideas and thus merely the faintest noise from a private conversation or a cell phone could not only break individuals’ concentration but also have a detrimental impact on their work efficiency as well as productivity. In other words, if more companies design open-plan offices, this gives rise an adverse psychological influence on several workers, causing them to operate more sloppily and fatigued. numer Nevertheless, I would argue that the unfavorable effects are outweighed by the beneficial ones. A principal merit is that setting open working areas without any walls or barriers seem to be advantageous for businesses to save a huge amount of construction and office equipment costs. For example, by doing this, numerous companies are more likely to have a communal space which allows employees to share office equipment and resources mutually, namely printer and stationery and therefore they could form cohesive and supportive bonds mutually. In addition, as a matter of fact, since most businesses rely heavily on exploring new ideas and concepts, this development also assists firms in eliminating hierarchies in order to encourage faster learning, better communication and more creative ideas as well as build collaboration among staffs. In conclusion, it seems to me that the possible benefits of this evolution are more significant than the potential dangers. I believe that by taking some effective measures to combat these aforementioned drawbacks, more companies which follow this trend, would continue to flourish and thrive in the future.