‘Cannabis has been classified as a Class B drug in the UK since 2008 and carries a prison sentence of up to five years for possession. ( Source: The Week ) Many countries have decriminalized the use of cannabis and as a result have seen a reduction in drug related crime. Should cannabis and other soft drugs use be legalized?

In the last decade, drug related crimes increased. To deal with the situation, many countries have legalized cannabis and other soft drugs and reported a positive result. In my opinion, cannabis and other soft drugs should be legalized because drug addicts collect these drugs someway or other. Besides legalizing these drugs will reduce drug related crimes. Drug addicts do not consider whether it is legal or illegal when buying drugs. Hence, legalizing or not legalizing soft drugs will have little or no effect on their drug consumption. So, it is better to legalize these drugs and regulate the market and track all the drug related transactions. This way government can earn revenue as well as reduce drug related crimes. Besides, criminal groups often fight against each other because of drugs which often lead to murder even. For example, in Bangladesh cannabis and other soft drugs are banned but drug addicts manage these drugs illegally which often causes unwanted occurences. If they can collect drugs legally from authorized stores, they will have no reason to fight for drugs. In addition, illegal drugs often contain poisonous elements which lead to death. Considering all these factors, cannabis and other soft drug consumption should be decriminalised. However, a group of people believe that legalizing soft drugs will destroy our young generation. They are of the belief that young people will be inspired to try out these drugs if these are readily available in the local market. This may result in an increase of drug addicts and drug related crimes according to them. Development think, if properly regulated, legalizing soft drugs will cause no such issues. For example, everyone has not become smokers although cigarette is legal. To conclude, it is not so difficult to collect drugs even if it is illegal. Therefore, it is better to legalize soft drugs like cannabis as it may result in reduction of drug related crimes death for taking drugs that contains poisonous elements.