More and more young people from wealthy countries are spending a short time in communities in poorer countries doing unpaid work. Why? Who benefit more?

Nowadays, volunteers work is getting more popular in developed countries. There is a trend that young people are preferring to work in poorer countries for a short time without getting paid. Some of the acceptable reasons will be discussed before going over some of the benefits of this. There are some reasonable explanations of why are so many people decided to do those unpaid works. Firstly, it may begin with love and sharing. Sharing and helping each other are good virtues and are always appreciated. Therefore, it is not surprising that many young people join hands to spread this value. Secondly, volunteering contributes significantly to making a beautiful CV. If you want to apply for the job, a skillful person will be an ideal option for the recruiters. Your volunteer experiences are a plus mark that other candidates cannot match even with a flawless score in theory. The fact that young people work without pay in poorer countries has many benefits for both themselves and society. Volunteering is beneficial to one's self-improvement. Experiential learning helps to gain experience in jobs that were previously only heard about and taught in books, causing you to become proficient in them. Soft skills will be developed in addition, allowing you to improve both physically and mentally. For society, these activities bring lots of benefits for undeveloped countries. Shortages in housing or education can be solved at less cost. People's awareness of underprivileged countries can also be boosted, resulting in an increase in the number of people willing to aid. This will be a crucial stage toward countries' rapid development. Given the aforementioned benefits, it's no surprise that young people in industrialized countries are becoming more interested in volunteering. In conclusion, doing volunteer work in poorer countries is becoming more popular due to its humanity and employment potential through the skills gained during that time. I believe that both the volunteers and the community benefit from the practice described above.