More and more students prefer going overseas to study. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Traveling abroad to attend school is becoming a trend among students. In my opinion, the benefits will outweigh the drawbacks. There are many advantages that students can gain when studying abroad. One of them is that students who live far away from family can promote self-reliance. In particular, they will have to deal with difficulties and everyday matters such as cooking, fixing, scheduling and also managing to commute… which will help them a lot when facing challenges in the future, and also create a greater sense of ability. Besides, they will be exposed to different studies in different teaching methods. Moreover, students can have more diverse fields of study, they can take high quality courses with profound professors, and lots of scientific advances. As a result they will be beneficial in terms of having professional occupations. On the other hand, there are some negative effects on students who live and study in foreign countries. First of all, they have to deal with confronting financial burden, especially for some people who don’t have a scholarship. In particular, they have to cover other expenses in addition to cost of living and school for tuition fees. In addition, they will experience psychological issues such as culture shock, homesickness, language barrier, all of these things have the potential to contribute to depression. These impacts would lead to poor performance in study. In conclusion, the two main advantages are increased self-sufficiency and having more job opportunities. However, high cost living abroad and mental sickness would be some possible drawbacks. As far as I am concerned, studying abroad gives everyone a lot of experience, but consider your family's financial situation before making the decision.