In modern society, it is possible to do shopping, work and communicate via the internet. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

In the modern world of today, various aspects of human’s life, including working, shopping, and interacting with others, have been entangled with technology and people are able to carry out daily tasks with the help of the internet. Although there are some drawbacks into this trend, in my opinion its advantages are more significant. As for the disadvantages of using the internet, our heavy reliance on modern technology has made us inactive individuals who lead a sedentary lifestyle. Because of which, many health-related difficulties can be expected for the users. Moreover, with the improvement of technology, people tend to spend less time with each other and are rather reluctant to socialize with others in person. As a result of this, they will become more socially isolated and cannot sharpen their soft skills. Despite the mentioned disadvantages, I am convinced that the development of technology is more beneficial. Firstly, by employing online applications, tasks can be done more rapidly and time, which is of a great essence these days, can be easily saved. For instance, with online shopping, people do not have to waste much of their time waiting in the queues. Instead, they can press a “buy” button in less than a second anytime they want to. What is more, teleworking is the product of advanced technology, which enables individuals to work remotely and benefit flexible working hours. This can help them achieve a better work-life balance. Ultimately, traffic congestion would be alleviated if people did not leave home for every task. This, in turn, will reduce fuel and commuting costs and enhance city residents’ quality of life. In conclusion, according to substantial benefits including saving time, distance-working, and reducing city traffic, I believe that technology has made life more convenient and its advantages outweigh the disadvantages.