Many adults nowadays prefer spending their free time playing computer games. Why do they do this? Is this a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, younger generation invest their leisure time mostly into playing video games. This essay gives reasons for the preferences of video games over other activities by youth and argues about the negative development associated with them. With the advancement of technology, varied options available for people to utilize their free time, nowadays, and the most obvious choice are computer games. One would feel the virtual world by just sitting at one place with wide variety of games available in different fields. For Example, cricket, volleyball, football, etc. are there in terms of sports games, cars, buses with tracks for racing games, Warfield games and various other options. Moreover, computers are cheap now and can be afforded by every family with internet access and cyber café options available in the market for rented use. Because electronic games are easily accessible, it does not mean that they resulted in positive development. There are numerous banes with this technological advantage. Due to prolonged hours sitting at one location and continuous looking into the screen may damage health conditions of an individual. To illustrate, a survey conducted by WHO in United States who keeps track of this issue proved that 80 percentage of population suffers from vision loss and obesity. Additionally, it may also affect the social life of people as the interaction becomes very less, as a consequence, they lack collaboration, team work and other social qualities. To conclude, considering the above arguments, adults can decide to prioritize their time, so that the negative developments can be avoided for this wonderful gift available.