More and more students are choosing to study in another country for higher education. Do the benefits outweigh the drawbacks?

In today’s modern world, the number of students going abroad for higher education has increased dramatically. In my view, leaving one’s own country for higher education brings more problems than benefits. Admittedly, there are some obvious advantages to studying in a foreign country. Firstly, the student has the opportunity to work in international markets after finishing their course. Since wages in these countries are higher, their financial situation will undoubtedly improve when they work abroad. Secondly, international programs allow them to study with students from other countries. When they socialize with students from a very different culture, this not only improves their communication skills but also encourages them to think creatively. Nevertheless, despite the benefits mentioned above, I believe that studying abroad has some significant drawbacks. One of the most serious issues is that international students do not contribute to the economies of their own countries. For instance, skilled migration to other countries has slowed the development of countries such as India. Students who should have become entrepreneurs in their native country have been seen operating profitable companies and paying taxes in other countries. Another potential disadvantage to studying abroad is that students can pay a higher tuition fee. They frequently have to work part-time to pay for their studies, which distracts their attention away from their studies. The other problem is that living away from friends and family in a highly competitive atmosphere can lead to increased stress. This is the one of the primary motivators for students to commit criminal acts. In conclusion, different people can hold different viewpoints, but I agree that the main disadvantages of studying overseas far outweigh the minor benefits. This trend has an effect on their country’s economic development and makes life more stressful for them.