Nowadays television and the Internet have a greater influence on children's behavior than their parents.

People have different views about whether parents still have a predominant influence on children these days. Although I agree that modern technologies have a noticable effect on young people's actions, I believe that parents still play the most important role in shaping their kids' behaviour. On the one hand, the appearance of television and the Internet makes it possible for students to know new information and other values in the world. There is an increasing number of TV programs, online games aiming at delivering various types of knowledge and entertainment which are readily accessible to children, and some of them are even designed for youngsters. It is not hard to imagine that these shows may have an effect, no matter positive or negative, on children's attitude towards the world and therefore the actions they take. For example, some young people may feel relentless about victims of a murder and they may even be inspired to commit murder if they watch too many films depicting murders and violence. On the other hand, parents are the people who spend the longest time with their kids. Children tend to copy what they see and hear from their parents, therefore they are still mainly influenced by their family members. For instance, a child will understand the importance of reading if his or her mom and dad spend at least 30 minutes on books every day. Moreover, the time that youngsters watch TV or play online games is still under the control of their parents, which means that parents could adjust how much their children's behaviour is affected by those advanced technologies. To summarize, we have to admit that modern developments such as TV and the Internet have a greater influence on young people than they used to, but parents are still the people who actually guide the direction of children's behaviour.