More and more people work from home or study from home with the development of computer technology. Do you think it is positive or negative development?

The tendency of people studying or working at home is raising a debate about whether the advancement of computer technology is a positive contributor. While I partly agree with the merits of technology to working and learning system, I do hold some viewpoints about its possible negative effects. The advent of computer science has constantly brought about various applications to schools and workplaces. By developing online management systems with developed communication software, employers are now able to implement procedures in distant administration activities and keep track of working performances of their subordinates, and these employees can also work without presenting at their offices as well as perform their tasks online without interrupting their process, thus leads to higher productivity. Meanwhile, an excessive number of online courses facilitate learners to choose from various choices of disciplines and fields compatible with their abilities. Therefore, such affordable learning methods offer a convenient development in education system and extend the age range of learners, which previously are only suitable for graduates due to its time-consuming and long-term commitment. On the other hand, computer users should not underestimate the disadvantages of their using such devices to working and studying. It is obviously that disruptive computer software and peripheral applications such as social media, video games may reduce the working and learning efficiency of their users since it draws much attention toward them and easily cause digression during working hours. To a larger extent, while computer technology strengthens individual independence with workplace and school, it is likely that weakened social relationships between personnels or students may occur, due to less time spent communicating directly with their partners. This, unfortunately, is exacerbating a social issue in the modernized world. In conclusion, the trend of working or studying from home during the era of technology development is inevitable. However, it is crucial that individual concern over avoiding drawbacks of technology to their performances should be prioritized.