More and more people want to own items, such as cars, clothing and other things, that are made by famous brands. Đoàn Vân Anh Đoàn Vân Anh Dec 14, 2019·2 min read What are the reasons for this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

In this day and age, this is commonplace when people tend to purchase luxurious and costly products. This trend happens due to certain reasons. while it is certain that this trend has positive impacts on individuals and society, I would argue that it is more detrimental for our society. One the one hand, the reasons for which people spend extravagantly amount of money on products of famous brands vary greatly. To begin with, because the price reflects their quality, luxurious items to be believed high-quality. More people, especially those in the middle and upper class tend to be more generous when buying these. for example, with the same uses, while a typical handbag would cost no more than one hundred dollars, a branded one such as Channel’s could set buyers back by thousands of dollars only due to its label. In addition, because of the domination of individualism, people want to solidify their social supremacy through the possessions they have. as a result, the more luxurious items they own, the more respect and admiration they think they will receive. On the other hand, this trend has exerted tremendous negative impacts on our society. The first major impact is indicating social disparity. For instance, in several restaurants in Hn, the capital of Vietnam. Service staff tends to adjust service attitude based on a customer's appearance. Consequently, with the same amount of money customers paid, they have to deal with inadequate service quality. Ultimately, this trend plays a role in promoting materialism in modern society. As a result, people assume that they have constantly buy in order to be happy. in a nutshell, there are two major reasons for the rising demand for luxurious items and the social impacts of this trend are mostly adverse.