More and more people today are drinking sugar-based drinks. What are the reasons for this? What are the solutions?

Nowadays, more and more individuals are becoming obsessed with sugar-based drinks. This problem is more aggravated for the younger generation who literally replace water in favour of sweety drinks. In the given essay, I will highlight two main reasons for the outstanding problem and then provide ways to mitigate the ongoing concern. First and foremost, soft drinks provide people with a sense of joy and delightfulness. It is well investigated that the sugar in component positively affects the dopamine level in the body of a person. Increase in this hormone forces the person to feel “happier”. Hence, as individuals feel themselves better, they purchase more of sweety products. Another reason behind high levels of consumption of sugar-products, specifically soft-drinks, is an over-consumption behaviour of modern society. In fact, the majority of generation Y and Z advocates that soft-drinks is an essential component of any party or other special occasions. That is, the standards of any event are based on the fact that whether or not snacks and beverages were offered. This behaviour, in turn, makes people buy more of these products. The most effective way to surmount the problem of sweet-drinks addiction is to constantly notify people of an adverse impact of sugar. The beverages, such as Coke and Pepsi, contain a great amount of sugar components which causes the deterioration of brain cells as well as muscular structure. Furthermore, a sugar addiction may lead to obesity problems, which many young adults encounter nowadays. The government should start a sugar-free campaign and share the effects of sugar and beverages through online and offline channels, including social media and advertisements. In conclusion, there are several causes of people drinking sweety drinks. The problem, however, lies deeply in the mindset of individuals who, possible, do not know the negative effects of sugar. So, in order to effectively overcome this issue, the local authorities should rise awareness among the folk to the very great extent.