More and more people prefer to read e–books rather than paper books. What are the reasons for this? What problems can this cause for libraries?

In the recent times, the reading preferences of the people have changed dramatically. Amongst the readers, the preference of the e-books has outweighed the traditional hardcopy of the books. Consequently, this digital form of books provides ample benefits to the reader; such as flexibility, inexpensive price and compact study materials. To begin with, the potential factors for the drastic swing in a reading pattern of the people are the easy access to the e-books to the public as well as the optimum cost of the material. The digitization has brought many gadgets to store and utilize the information for the betterment of the user. Moreover, the affordable internet facility acts as a boon for these users to fetch the information from any fraternity. Such online materials are easily available, at cheaper price and it can be stored in very compact storage devices. For instance, momentarily, many universities are encouraging their students to use the online study recourses instead of the paper books. However, the trend of the e-books which could be accessed at any place in the world will replace of the libraries. Although, the library is an essential part of the society, the youth will never recognise it; which bring the detrimental effects on the society. The numbers of the visitors to the library will decline due to excessive use of the e-books. As a result, the resources of the library will not utilize by the readers. Gradually, the prime purpose of the library will be faded from the community. For example, the survey conducted by the Indian regime in 2015, revealed that, in urban regions due to availability of online materials, the library users had been declined to 40%. In conclusion, the digital books are persuading the enormous advantages to the readers. Also, such practices are creating a sabotage situation for the library. Hence, the regimes should motivate their citizens to utilize the library along with the technology.