More and more people prefer to read e books rather than paper books these days. DO the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

E-books have become a popular choice as compared to the traditional paperbacks. Primary reasons for the shift are the portability, affordability and eco-friendliness. Though, it has resulted in potential harm to publishing industry, its benefits undeniably outweigh any of its drawbacks. Hard bound copies have lost their imminent place in the market and have been replaced by the digital versions of their counterparts. Online pdfs have made the paperbacks redundant in some ways and adversely affected the income of the numerous publishing houses & the people working in allied industry. And some individuals miss the feel of holding the treasure of knowledge in their hands and the fragrance of fresh parchment. But apart from this, I cannot find any other negative impact. In contrast, people as well as environment has gained immensely with the introduction of these easy to carry books. To begin with, nowadays due to technology such as mobile phones, laptops, kindle, and internet e-books are easily obtainable at a much cheaper price. To demonstrate, Amazon kindle unlimited allows you to access as many as 10 free books at a single instance at a meagre subscription fee of RS 169 a month. It saves you visits to the local libraries. Having e-formats in one’s device makes it exceptionally convenient to carry. In addition, it has a massive positive effect on the ecology. Firstly, there is no need to cut down trees for manufacturing paper. Otherwise, thousands of trees would be sacrificed to meet the ever-increasing demand for books. This can be considered as a major boon of digitalization. Besides, it saves the ink and various other raw materials involved in producing a paperback. To infer, preference of e-books invariably is a plus with no major downsides. It allows the reader to enjoy a book anywhere and anytime without having to carry the bulk of hard copy. Another utmost significant contribution is towards nature, especially trees, which are used widely for paper making