"What the hell am I doing" should be enough to describe yourself.

These days, environmental problems has become a major concern. Several people argue that the optimal solution for the worldwide environmental crisis is to increase the cost of petroleum. Although I admit that this method may work, I would reckon that there are other viable methods to handle this severe issue of the environment. On the one hand, increasing the price of gasoline may be the answer to this problem. The main reason is due to a raise in petroleum cost, the quantity of fossil fuels consumed by transportation and industrial activities will be inevitably cut down. This means that the amount of carbon dioxide, the main culprit behind global warming, will be significantly reduced. For instance, in Vietnam, the increase in the cost of fuel has led to a remarkable outcome: more and more people have switched from travelling by private vehicles to public transportation, which effectively helps in reducing the amount of gas released to the atmosphere. Thus, the air quality is improved. On the other hand, I’m afraid that this solution may not work in the long run. Plenty of other serious environmental concerns, namely deforestation, excessive fishing will not be resolved even if an increase in gasoline price is taken into account. In lieu of that, governments should take extensive measures to further protect the environment, such as applying penalty to individuals or organizations that cause harmful impact to the environment. In particular, factories that discharge too much waste into rivers or oceans should be fined. Another resolution is to raise the awareness of people about the severity of environmental issues. As a result, a more eco-friendly lifestyle such as using renewable energy or recycling waste will be emerged, thereby contributing to environmental preservation. In conclusion, I do not agree with the argument that increasing petroleum fee is the most feasible measure to handle international environmental concerns.