More and more people nowadays choose to live alone. Why is it the case? Is it a positive or negative development for the society?

The number of people determining to live independently out of their family home is remarkably accelerated. There are many underlying reasons behind this trend and this can affect social development. I am in favour of two significant causes explaining this trend. Firstly, people may gain a better sense of freedom when living alone. In other words, they will be autonomous in every aspect of their private lives without the supervision of their parents. For instance, people can put all their attention on their work without being disturbed or engage in a movie all day without the grumbles of family members. In addition, moving out of the family house is an effective way to escape from family conflicts. Due to the generation gap, parents and children rarely share the same way of thinking which could potentially result in fierce quarrels. I still remember I had fought against my father because of the different ideas about which university I should attend. At that time, I wished to grow up faster and start living on my own. Consequently, living independently provides people with more private spaces and helps prevent family members from unworthy conflicts. Personally, I think this trend has both merits and demerits in promoting the advancement of society. On the one hand, the noticeable increasing number of one-person households may reflect a healthy economy. This is because when the economy develops, more job opportunities and extravagant income will be created, giving rise to stable finance for a large number of residents. As a result, the rate of people who can afford a private house will accelerate. On the other hand, living independently may take a toll on psychological health of people. Some people living on their own have to suffer from depression and loneliness because of the lack of human interacts. Some sink into pessimistic feelings due to the inability to afford the cost of living. In conclusion, to gain independence in life and keep harmonious relationships among family members, living alone has become a common trend recently. This trend, as far as I am concerned, will deliver benefits for social advancement.