Examinations- are they an advantage or a disadvantage

Examinations have been and always will be the most stressful part of a student's academic life as they are integrated deeply into the roots of many school systems across the globe. Examinations are usually conducted to test a student's abilities, knowledge and also considered feedback to the teachers. In this essay, I shall be discussing the advantages and disadvantages and present my opinion. Examinations are considered beneficial for students due to their simple yet remarkable features. Examinations allow a student to test their abilities and challenge their limitations at the same time. It gives the students a chance to express their excellence in regards to their intellectual capacity, their understanding of the subject, and also a chance for many to gather together and engage in healthy competition. Examinations also allow room for credit for the teachers regarding their hard work and patience invested in the students. However, there are some disadvantages. These disadvantages can be seen in the form of deteriorating health of the youth, a decrease in effectiveness, suicide rates, and unemployment. Due to constant pressure from parents, teachers, and peers to perform better in examinations, one's mental health can easily be affected leading to evident signs of depression, anxiety and may further lead to panic attacks. along with the medical issues, many other issues are faced. These include a decrease in social development, poor communication skills, lack of practical life skills, and a sedentary lifestyle. These disadvantages will pave a way for greater problems in the future. Examinations have become an integral part of one's career development and serve to be an advantage. But one must keep in mind the "true" purpose of examinations and respect the same accordingly.