More and more people no longer read newspapers or watch TV programs to get their news and instead read online. Is this a positive or negative development?

Increasingly, people visit online platforms for news items and have abandoned the newspaper and TV channels. This is a positive development. News is more easily accessed online and can be stored and retrieved effortlessly. News item is readily available online. Almost everyone has a mobile device or a computer than can access online content. With these electronic devices, both local news and news from different parts of the globe can be found and read online without any difficulty. All that is required is access to internet. Webpages and mobile platforms have now been developed and several applications have been created and are available for users to stream news at any given time. Furthermore, many of the traditional news outlet, having observed the trend, have now created online versions of their platforms. A good example is the Times of London which has created a website – www. thetimes. co. uk. Upon accessing news items online, there is sometimes the need to save or store the news for use at another time. This is now made possible by the online platforms and devices. The format of the online news items is made compatible with the storage and memory functions of the computers. The item stored is safe and free from risk of getting destroyed by water or even fire, unlike the case of the newspaper which can be irretrievably damaged by water. Retrieval and sharing of online news item is also very easy. For example, I just shared with a friend of mine, the news item about the 2007 presidential election in my country which I saved on my mobile device. In conclusion, the audience of the traditional news channels is becoming reduced. The ease of access and storage of online news is a plus. Online media has come to stay.