Is Modern Technology Making Communication Less Personal?

Experts in both the developing and developed worlds have argued whether the introduction of advanced digital technologies such as cell phones, tablets, and iPads has aided in the enhancement and improvement of people's social lives or has had the inverse result. Personally, I strongly advocate the former view. Both sides will be discussed in this article, with examples and analysis evidence used to illustrate points and prove claims. On the one hand, there is abundant, strong, almost daily evidence that such technology can be harmful, especially to the younger generation, who are more easily influenced by its addictive nature and may feel more alienated from society as a result. The main reasons for this are twofold: first, the proliferation of online social media platforms and apps like Twitter and Facebook has drastically diminished critical face-to-face interactions. People feel in contact and connected when they use these appealing and enticing mediums, but they lack key social skills and the ability to communicate. Second, reliance on such devices can develop frighteningly quickly, potentially harming mental health and encouraging a sedentary lifestyle. For example, according to a set of 2015 statistics found on Pew Research Center, 57% of teens ages 13 to 17 have made a new friend online, with 29% of teens indicating that they have made more than five new friends in online venues. Most of these friendships stay in the digital space; only 20% of all teens have met an online friend in person. As a result, it is undeniable that technological advances have reduced and diluted our face-to-face experiences. On the other hand, while technical advancements have major drawbacks, their numerous benefits cannot be overlooked. This is partially due to the widespread use of technologies such as cellphones, which enable people to communicate freely and securely regardless of the location. People can share any type of news, information, pictures, or opinions with their friends and family at any time and from any place, maintaining a sense of proximity and closeness. For example, an extensive study conducted by Oxford University found that people who work or study abroad and use Facetime or WhatsApp to communicate with their families are less likely to feel lonely and out of the loop than those who do not. Businessmen will certainly profit from these advancements by conducting virtual real-time meetings using Skype, which may improve the chances of closing business deals without the need to travel, which is consistent with this line of thought. Based on the arguments and examples given, one can conclude that overall connectivity and man's sociability have progressed tremendously as a result of massive technological advancement over the past two decades, and that, despite some potentially serious health consequences that authorities should not underestimate, its popularity will continue to grow in the future.