More and more people in the city live in homes with small space or no outdoor areas Do you think it is a negative or positive development

Many people are of the opinion that difficult subjects like mathematics and philosophy should not be kept mandatory, but made optional, as these take time to be grasped by children. In my perspective, these subjects are prerequisite for dealing with certain real life situations, thus, these should not be completely made optional, instead, these should be included as compulsory subjects at an elementary level and should be made optional in the highschool education. Firstly, looking at the problems these subjects create for students, being difficult to grasp and understand, these are leading to increasing levels of stress in the student life. Also, children struggle for hours at these, trying to get a hang of it, but still failing in the exams. Failing is an important stigma, especially, in my country India, therefore, this may demotivate many and lead to disinterest in studies. As a result, students, many times give up studies or parents themselves cancel their enrolment from schools thinking that this is a waste of money. As a drastic step, few students also commit suicide, this is evident from the increasing number of suicide reports coming in the newspapers nowadays, owing to such reasons. On the other hand, these subjects are also essential and are a part of every individual in one way or another. For example, mathematics, is involved in everyday calculations such as buying groceries, taking measurements of food items while making food and calculating discount on items while buying them. Also, philosophy greatly shapes the mind of an individual and helps one to see the world from different perspectives and make decisions as such. Philosophy would greatly impact the society by making each and every individual wiser. Thus, these subjects make way into our daily lives and they influence it in a way that people have not even realized. As a result, I feel that these subjects should be made compulsory at a primary level, such that, the knowledge imparted at this level is enough to shape the individual and aid their mundane work, so that these tasks can be completed without any obstacles and they need not depend on others to finish those properly. However, as we dig deeper into these subjects, they become highly complex and are only useful to individuals who want to build a career into this domain. Thus, at the higher levels such as high school, these should be made as an elective, wherein, only interested students may pursue it. In conclusion, as thought by many individuals, certain subjects are indeed difficult and thus should be made optional for children. Looking at the extent of the importance of these at different levels of education, it may be more feasible to introduce these subjects mandatory in elementary school and then, giving an option at the high school and higher education such as graduation.