More and more people in developing countries are purchasing cars for the first time. What problems does this cause? What do you think are possible solutions?

An increasing number of people in the emerging markets are showing a rising trend of owning their private vehicles, and a primary reason for this is rising income levels in these countries. However, this brings along with it is devastating environmental damages and higher carbon emissions. In my opinion, the Government has a huge role in creating public infrastructure which would encourage people to use more public transportation. The damage caused due to a large number of cars is becoming more and more evident. Are you wondering how? In recent years, studies show that temperatures have increased from an average of 25 degrees to 30 in just two decades, particularly in new markets. Furthermore, natural calamities have increased showing that there clearly exists an imbalance between man and nature. More world nations are heeding to the need of having solutions to these problems. Firstly, it is an appreciable fact that countries have started to recognize this has a problem and have started spending public money to develop infrastructure. For instance, many states in India now have metro's and tramps, which carry an average of 3. 5 million people daily and thereby reducing carbon emissions. Additionally, creating awareness among people and providing them with cheap and subsidized transportation facilities also could solve the problem. Hence, in order to reduce the environmental damage and to preserve nature for our future generations, I personally feel that governmental institutions have a huge role to play and this would provide economic benefits that would last for future generations.