More and more people are opting for ready made food instead of freshly prepared food. Do this development has more advantages than disadvantages.

In recent years, people's food choices have remarkably changed. In today's society, a growing number of people prefer to eat processed food rather than freshly cooked ones. , This essay will explain that while ready made edibles are more affordable and save time, the drawbacks in their consumption surpass these benefits. Admittedly, there are advantages of eating such convenient meals and snacks. Firstly, it conserves time. As many people in today's world are too busy to shop for ingredients and prepare meals at home, they depend on processed foods to satisfy their appetite. For instance, many people in Lagos city who are time- conscious omit breakfast at home and settle for ready made packages at work. Additionally, ready-to- eat meals and snacks are inexpensive. Because they are affordable as opposed to buying or cooking freshly made meals, they are generally appealing. Despite these attractions, the drawbacks are overwhelming. To start with, there are risķs of contracting illnesses such as cholera and developing cancer. In other words, processed foods predispose to diseases because they could be expired, infected and contain chemical preservatives. Another major disadvantage is the strain on existing health care systems. Owing to increasing cases of obesity and overweight caused by excessive consumption of processed foods which are rich in unhealthy products like fat, salt and sugar, many people suffer from cardiovascular diseases such as heart attack, diabetes and hypertension. These are over burdening the current health facilities. Without doubt, convenient meals are unhealthy options for people. In conclusion, ready made foods are more popular than home made meals these days. Although there are few benefits to processed food, the demerits of its excess consumption by individuals outweigh them.