More and more people are moving away from the place they were born and brought up in

Mobility and ease of travel has become one of the biggest contribution of development and innovation in transportation and technology. Moving to another town, city, or country has become easier and much more possible as we discover quicker and more efficient ways to travel. People nowadays yearn for independence and freedom. Relocating to a different city or country can definitely be scary as it takes you out of your comfort zone. However, that is where you will truly learn to be independent and grow as a person. Not that I am saying that growth and independence is not achievable if you do not move away; but, there is something to be said about moving into a new place where you have to learn everything from scratch - finding out where the post office is, meeting new people and making new friends, and learning about a different way of life. For people wanting a do-over in life or those wanting to reinvent themselves, moving from the place where everyone knows you is a refreshing start. Moving away could mean a chance to have a new career, to change your personality, or to move away from bad memories or people you no longer want in your life. A person can discover more about the world and themselves when placed in a new environment. While leaving the place one calls home has its advantages, it certainly has its downsides as well. Moving away could mean moving away from your family, friends, and loved ones. You would have to leave your network behind and rebuild a new one. As being able to start over is an advantage, it is also a disadvantage as you have to learn everything. For someone who finds change difficult, I can imagine moving as a nightmare for them. Everything will be new and you might find yourself missing remnants of home. Feelings of home-sickness, sadness, and loneliness might creep in every once in a while. Sometimes, one even finds that the idea of moving away is more glamorous than actually moving away. To answer if the advantages of moving away from the place you grew up in outweighs its disadvantages, I would have to say that it is subjective. It certainly has its challenges but the sense of fulfillment of moving could be rewarding. But, it truly depends on what each individual's goal and purpose is in life.