The current trend in education is to move away from from traditional exams and instead have continuous assessment over the school year

Moving away from the traditional exams seems to be a new trend in education. Continuous assessment over the school year is being used. I think this trend is good as continuous assessment gives a true reflection of a students performance throughout the year Traditional exams have been a way of assessing students at the end of each academic year and l think it's not really a true reflection of a student's performance. So many factors can lead to failure in an exam for example panic. Some students can feel overwhelmed by the fact that they have to process all information learnt in a long period of time. Other people may disagree and say exams are prepared for and all students are expected to perform better in an exam but the stress levels of students may be unbearable causing failure Continuous assessment may show student's participation throughout the year and it is only fair to be assessed in all areas as the year goes by. Moreover this will give a true reflection of the students performance by the immediate assessment done for example a topic is done and understood and assessed by course work and results given. There is less stress during the year compared to exam time thereby yielding better results for students. In conclusion, l believe shifting away from the traditional exam is very beneficial for all students and continuous assessment is only fair.