More and more people are deciding to focus on their careers rather than having children. Why they decide to do this? What are the possible impacts this may have on society?

Nowadays it is increasingly popular to center people`s lives around careers instead of raising children. This development raises certain questions, namely: what is the reason of such conduct and what implications towards the society it has. The major cause of choosing career over children is a need to gain financial prosperity and it may lead to a much older society than nowadays. In our financially-tight times most of people don`t feel secure regarding their income. Even those with credentials from the higher-ranking universities have doubts about their debits and credits. This leads to dire need to minimize their financial obligations and maximize their cash flow. Having this in mind, sacrifysing parenting to succesful career is the sensible option for many people. For example, raising a kid up to 3 years of age - avarage age after which a toddler requires much less parent` attention - may significantly harm one`s career progression and, at the same time, may cost as much as one hundred US dollars (avarage sum of absolutly necassery payments assotiated with child care). It is inevitable that people who don`t have chidren will harm the age structure of the society. Not only don`t they add anything to rejuvenate the nation, but also directly hit it by eventually becoming elders themselves. In fact, the longer this trend stays in place the larger the scope of the problems caused by it becomes. In the long-term it will result in completly different proportions of youngsters and elders in the society. The examples of this tendency has already been visible in countries like Japan: nation is getting older by the virtue of those who had decided to climb a career ladder instead of heaving kids. To summarize, people`s choise to be child-free and work their way throug in their careers is most often done due to financial reasons and leads to the ageing population.