Advertising is a Science or an art

Supporters of advertising as art rightfully point out how old advertising is a common home decorating trend. Many ads from the 40s, 50s and 60s get incorporated into home décor much like a piece of art. Even though a client pays for advertising, art is none-the-less created. Another argument on the side of art centers on the placement of ads in museums. If advertising is not art, then why do ads appear in such a prominent museum as the Smithsonian’s National Museum of American History? This museum is the leading source of displays depicting American culture, and most everyone in the field agrees that advertising belongs there. Additionally, other art museums will occasionally have special exhibits featuring advertising through the years; but rarely will science museums display advertising whether influential or not. One of the additional arguments supporting advertising as science revolves around advertising as a business enterprise. The purpose of advertising is to sell a product or service and make a profit. This basic premise constitutes a business transaction between agency and client, and between agency and client and consumer. While artists certainly sell their artwork and may even be commissioned for a project, it is the multi-level relationship between client, agency, and consumer with the sole intent of the agency creating ads for the client to earn money, and progressively more money over time, that constitutes advertising as science. In conjunction with this business relationship, evolving tracking and analytical capabilities used to drive ever more efficient advertising connotes a science-based approach. Creating and utilizing tracking and analytics pollutes the organic process that is true art. The debate over advertising as art or science is almost as old as the field itself. New developments and new data and analytic capabilities only add additional fuel to the debate. Both art and science supporters have an abundance of reasons and rationale for their claim. For many, though, the best advertising is a combination that leverages the best of both approaches; the guidance of science – data, analytics, goals, and a keen eye on profitability; combined with the creativity, inspiration and engagement of impactful art. There are a lot of opinions out there, what’s yours? Do you think advertising is art? Science? Or, is it a little bit of both?