More and more people are choosing to read ebooks as compared to paper books. Is it a positive or negative development.

It is true that majority of people prefer to read digital books over traditional books. Although there are certain drawbacks associated with this trend, I believe that there are more desirable impacts. The major drawback of online reading is vision problems. This is because the harmful radiations emitted from mobile screens, laptops and ipads has deleterious impacts on eyes leads to poor vision and in severe cases gives birth to ophthalmological disorders such as glaucoma, macular degeneration and cataracts. Furthermore, People have to rely on some sought of gadgets and internet connectivity to access electronic books whereas traditional books are easily available in book stores or libraries. Also, the information contained in books are more authentic and reliable as compared to electronic books. Despites the negatives mentioned above, I consider that Digital reading is a positive development for number of reasons. Firstly, easy accessibility is the prime advantage. Electronic books allows individuals to read anytime, anywhere around the clock. For instance, people can read books on their gadgets while commuting in trains or buses, waiting for someone at railway stations. Secondly, the charges incurred on buying paper books can be save by reading digital books which can be easily downloaded from the internet at no or very less cost. In conclusion, while I recognize the possible adverse outcomes of online reading, I considered it to be a positive development overall.