Mony peopre believe thol heolthy eoling ond the imporlonce of heollhy food should be lought in schools. Olhers soy lhol porenfs should feoch fheir kids oboul heolthy food ond dieL Discuss bolh views, ond give your opinion wilh relevonl exomples.

The importance of a healthy diet has grown ever since we have stepped into a sedentary lifestyle, topped up with a mushroom growth of affordable fast-food outlets. Some people opine that parents should apprise children about a healthy diet, whereas others say that it should be on the teachers to teach students about healthy eating. This essay intends to analyse both perspectives. I believe that in today's scenario, both teacher and parents have to share this task pro-actively. It is easy to see why teaching children about healthy eating should be parents job. Parents are the people children look upon as role models. Children imitate their parents almost immediately, smiling when they smile, repeating what they say and imitating their mannerisms. Eating is no different, and the way parents talk about food, cook meals and eat are the most important influence of developing healthy eating habits in a child. As role models, parents need to make sure they're demonstrating a healthy attitude toward food, so that their children do the same. Researches have shown that children who ate with their families had healthier overall diets than those who did not. As a result, these kids also tended to have a lower prevalence of obesity. On the other hand, some people contend that teachers are in a better position than parents to act as positive role models for students, as far as healthy eating is concerned. Students watch what the teacher says and does, very carefully. A teacher who makes healthy choices - including healthy eating and regular physical activity - can have a good influence on the health of students. Students spend only about 6-8 hours in a school every day, but that time is the most impressionable time. Moreover, some parents themselves are not much aware of healthy eating. Teachers can in fact teach them too through their ch ild ren. I believe, neither teachers nor parents can shrug their shoulders and say it is not their job to teach children about healthy eating. lt has to be a combined effort to ward off the menace of childhood obesity. Obesity is the root of several other diseases, which can afflict children. lf both parents and teachers accept this responsibility and strive to be good role models for children, the whole community would be benefited. To sum up, talking about wholesome diet to children is very essential in today's times and both teachers and parents must do it together to leave an imprint on the minds of children.