Mony emp, oyees moy work ol home with the modern lechnology. Some people cloim thot ii con benefrl only fhe workers, nol the employers. Do you ogree or disogree?

Telecommuting, which implies working from home with the help of telephone lines, has become very popular, especially where the lnternet connections are fast and reliable. l, disagree with the given statement that it can benefit only the employees, and not the employers. I believe, that telecommuting is advantageous for both - employers and employees. There are many advantages of telecommuting to employees. To begin with, it saves time as no time is wasted commuting to and from the office. Teleworkers don't even have to spend time getting ready for work. Secondly, it also saves money, as no spending on private or public transport has to be done. Furthermore, the worker can look after minor family commitments like dropping the child to school etc. Although most of the work done by tele-workers is monitored, still a few minutes can be snatched at times. All this helps a lot in maintaining a work-life balance. On the other hand, there are many advantages to employers also. Firstly, less office space is needed as the workers are working from home. lt is a fact that land prices are exorbitant, and it is very expensive to build large offices. Not only constructing buildings for offices, but maintaining them is also very costly. Another benefit, which has been observed after telecommuting became common, is that employees take less sick leave and other leaves. They do not have to take a whole day off for a minor family commitment, such as looking after a sick family member. This is also beneficial for employers. It would be worthwhile to consider why some people opine that telecommuting is not beneficial for employers. They argue that supervising tele-workers is difficult. However, statistics have proved that telecommuters make extra efforts to work well from home, as they realize the benefits it has for them. To sum up, I reiterate my opinion by saying that telecommuting is beneficial for both employees as well as employers. lt would be wrong to say that employers are not benefited at all.