Many believe that wealthy countries should not provide financial aid to poorer countries. Instead, they should focus on other kinds of assistance. Give specific reasons and examples to support it.

Poor countries often get a lot of assistance from developing countries of which financial assistance is one kind. While I think financial aid from developed countries has a certain contribution to the development of developing countries, I agree with the view that these countries need other kinds of assistance rather than finance only. The following paragraphs will clearly clarify my opinion. As undeveloped or developing countries really need money to develop infrastructure, transportation… In this case financial aid from richer countries can help effectively. They can use money from these funding to build power plants, roads, transportation… and many other facilities to ensure the basic conditions to develop their economies and attract investment from outside. For example, an amount of more than USD 5 billion ODA loans from Japan has been received and used in development of Vietnam’s power systems since 1999 which have greatly helped to improve Vietnam’s infrastructures a lot. However, to develop sustainably poor countries need a lot of things which are more than money. Thus, instead of only providing financial assistance, wealthy countries may take into consideration other types of assistance such as technical assistance, capacity building assistance, technology transfer assistance… For example, assistance to improve financial transparency and management capacity for the governments of less developed countries will help them better manage the funding from financial support, thereby ensuring the purpose and high efficiency of using this capital. Or another example, receiving advanced technologies which are supported and transferred by developed countries so that poor countries can approach and utilize their own resources internally for sustainable development without much dependence on financial support. In conclusion, I do agree with the view that financial assistance from developed countries have a certain role in the development of less developed countries, but it is not all. There is a famous saying “If you give a man a fish, you can feed him a day. But if you teach a man how to fish, you can feed him a lifetime”. The developed nations should pay more attention and take active interest in other kinds of assistance such as education or skills development for people in poor countries rather than financial aids.