Brain drain is bad for country

The education industry has witnessed a drastic change due to globalization. It is very common for students from one country to study in foreign universities. Some courses in the top educational institutions are now so globalized that they comprise entirely of international students only. In my opinion, this globalization of education is a positive trend with a plethora of benefits. One major advantage of this trend is the benefit to students. As students have the choice to study in any school across the world, opportunities for educational and professional development have been increased for students. For instance, a person interested in aeronautical design now has the chance to study in colleges like Purdue University in the USA which has a highly developed program for the course. However, some time back, these kinds of opportunities were not available to students from countries like the Maldives which do not have an active aeronautics industry. Therefore, studying abroad not only allows students to learn their areas of interest but also practice and develop a career in them. On the contrary, brain drain is a significant disadvantage of students getting the opportunity to study abroad. Due to high competition, only students with the highest capabilities and resources get access to studying abroad. For example, many colleges provide admission to only 1% of the applicants that apply. Consequently, the best brains from countries that have a poor educational infrastructure move out of the country and so do not participate in the development of their home country. To summarize, in my opinion having opportunities for students to study abroad is beneficial at both individual and at society level. It enables students to study subjects of interest, leverage the best educational resources, and develop a career of choice. On a society level, there is an exchange of cultures that cultivates understanding and peace.