Modern technology has made it possible for many people to work at home most of the time rather than going to an office everyday. What are the advantages and disadvanatges of working at home? Support your answer with specific reasons and examples.

It is believed that technology has modernized our society and one of its consequences is that many people can work at home most of their time instead of going to office everyday. As we can see this trend has several advantages, I also think that disadvantages would exist as well. On the one hand, the obvious benefit of working at home is that the commuting costs would be saved, along with the reduction of the polluted emission coming from vehicles such as motobikes, buses, taxies, … Due to the fact that moving from individual’s house to the office might charge a great amount of expense, so changing to remote work would help to economise this budget which can be spent usefully on other personal demands. Another point needs to be mentioned is that home is such a familiar environment, so that workers can feel free to take food or drinks in order to charge their energy up perform better in work. On the other hand, distance working causes a lack of communication between colleagues since people have to exchange conversations through chat or call instead of talking person-to-person compared to working at office. This might cause quite a significant decline in teamwork and daily productivity. Moreover, while at home, workers would be easily affected by some outside and distracted factors such as family members, houseworks, pets, … which make us lose focus on working process and also bring on the huge impact of the work performance. In conclusion, I would argue that working at home obviously has positive and negative consequences.