In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve whatever they want. What are the advantages and disadvantages of such an approach?

A baby seeks comfort and wonder, which contributes immensely to their creative capabilities. Their curiosity unravels a world of mystery. Several ethnicities have encouraged youngsters to pursue their aim relentlessly. We have idioms and stories on similar plot, wherein we teach kids that ‘nothing is impossible’ for a capable mind. This motivates the child to follow the path leading their destination, however, it also puts an unnecessary amount of pressure. I will discuss in the essay how such an approach can have both positive and negative repercussions. Be it the story of the untiring ant (the story of ant climbing on the wall) or the never give up attitude of the tortoise (the story of hare and tortoise), natives of several lands have built this impression that the human mind is capable of everything with determination. The pursuit of success will require numerous attempts; but that should not deter us. Essentially, this never give-up attitude motivates and guides adolescents at times of uncertainty. Failures are counted as stepping stones for success. An exemplary example is Miss Arunima Sinha, who amidst her physical disability tried relentlessly to climb Mount Everest. Finally, she created history by being the first disable women in Asia to ever achieve this feat. India’s Mars Orbiter Mission (MoM) also faced infrastructural and economic constraints early on, but ISRO’s scientists after a number of attempts, were finally able to create the most economical indigenous orbiter in the world. However, one cannot undermine the disadvantages of such an approach as well. If imbibing never give-up attitude is helpful, pressurising juveniles to stick to their path can affect them mentally. Their upbringing deters them to change career path. In India, we see thousands of children reappearing for competitive exams. Our society surmounts these aspirations on their perseverance, completely forgetting alternative career paths. For instance, this glorification of certain academic fields in Southeast Asia has led to a 6-fold rise in the suicide rates. This vilification of failure acts as a trigger for most, moreover, the child burden themselves psychologically with these expectations. In conclusion, even though our values instil the motivation inside our hearts to keep on trying, it also needs to cater to personal needs. Over-glorification of perseverance acts as stressor for the capable minds. Even when it does not align to one’s own belief, it is the duty of parents, mentors and peers to understand the child’s capability in every sphere and provide them with necessary aid and support.