Modern society's obsession with material goods like cars, designer clothes and jewellery has diverted people's attention from some more important aspects of family bonding and social values.

It is sometimes inferred that the community of today believes in respecting members who possess expensive and branded stuff more than people who value the importance of family and society. I believe this to be true in my opinion. First of all, I believe that the recent generation seems to focus more on acquisition of worldly items than strengthening family bonds. Individuals are willing to separate from their kins in search of higher wages. They are ready to disconnect from their roots and move abroad in order to get a better standard of living. There have also been raging disputes regarding properties. Instead of caring for their parents, siblings fight amongst each other so that they can get the largest share of inheritance. On another note, I think people deem branded goods more significant than human lives. More care is given to production of items instead of valuing human lives. While companies like Nike have recently come under flak for encouraging child labor, there have been little to no protests against such malpractice. Even in case of emergencies, people prefer to secure their possessions more than secure themselves. They make sure their cars are unharmed in case of accidents while not considering the health of the other person involved in the mishap. Multiple insurances are procured to ensure the safety of their prized items while personal security is ignored. To conclude, while I believe that some people do take care of others in a society, a majority of the population believes in giving more significance to material possessions.