its negative side should not be forgotten. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of globalization.

In the recent years, with the rise of the new technology, globalization has had a tremendous beneficial effect on the economies around the world. However, these changes impacting the lives of millions of humans worldwide have also a downside. This essay will address the benefits and drawbacks brought by globalization. One of the most significant positive aspect of globalization is the enhancement of the economic exchanges worldwide. The new technologies and means of transportation have eased greatly the possibilities of trading goods from one part of the world to another. For instance, a local producer in a remote area of the globe will be better able to sell his production to any buyer in the world. On a global scale, the multiplication of the exchanges is creating wealth and business opportunities. Another advantage of globalization is that it makes products and technologies available in any place of the world, reducing the inequalities between different areas. For example, due to the improvement of the exchanges, certain remote places have now an easier access to the latest prescription drugs, medical treatments and technological improvements, expanding greatly the life expectancy in these regions. On the other hand, as for any change of such a magnitude, globalization has also brought some drawbacks. The effects of the ever growing worldwide economy has raised some environmental concerns as the carbon emissions emitted by greater number of transportation and the increased industrial production is a major responsible of the climate change that has begun to affect million of persons in the world. Now some countries of Micronesia are seriously considering moving their populations to continental area in order to escape the rising sea levels produced by the increase in the globe temperature. Moreover, the environmental impact is not the only disadvantage of globalization. If it eases the transactions, unifying the different market places of the world in one unique global market, it also promotes a global way of life. Increasingly, people listen to the same music, wear the same clothes and eat the same food, and as a result some traditional cultures are disappearing leading to an impoverishment of the world’s culture and most of the time an acculturation of the populations. To summarize, if the globalization presents some cons, the are in my opinion outweighed by the pros. It is an opportunity for a better distribution of the wealth and prosperity over the world. However, the different nations of the world will have to find solutions in order to make the effects of globalization sustainable and to promote the preservation of the cultural identities.