Modern media, like documentaries and virtual reality, let us experience other countries without traveling to them. Long-distance travel has therefore become unnecessary.

The development of science and technology attached with many forms of media play a pivotal role in modern life which helps us have vivid experiences of traveling without moving. Although many thought that we need not to travel experientially as this method could satisfy our travel passion, I disagreed with this argument and highly appreciated the ordinary way. In fact, we are highly likely to discover directly and indirectly many remote destinations while still being in our place. For instance, we have followed and watched videos of traveler bloggers on social networks which have passed on useful information and their reviews. However, personal experiences are irreplaceable by others and it strongly relates to personality and degree of understanding. As we know, each nation desires to shadow their widespread culture and human factors beyond the border by the all-out way such as films, music videos, and articles which hold us up to absorb this knowledge. But all of these have just reflected a part of real-life, we should come there to explore more differences and have a clearer view. When a loaf of things in our life takes priority over traveling because of the limitation of time and money, this is one of the reasonable choices. Nevertheless, a long journey could bring unexpected value which helps us improve ourselves. For instance, by meeting and making friends who came from different regions, we would grasp their culture deeply and be more sympathetic. In addition, after facing and overcoming problems and accepting distinct things during travel time, our character and our mind could become flexible. At the same time discovering the world we also explore ourselves, once we find out the deficiency in some of our aspects, we probably know what we should do. In conclusion, modern media could respond temporarily to our demands but replaceability is impossible. I have a strong preference for long-distance travel because Its benefits are incomparable.