Many modern families are choosing to take children to school by car rather than allow them to walk or cycle. School authorities should discourage this trend.

Nowadays, with economic development, the standard of living is improving, and more and more of the quantity of car ownership is growing. As a result, these families are likely to take their children to school by car instead of letting them walk or go by bicycle. I have several valid reasons to agree with school authorities that this tendency should not encourage. As we know, cars could bring great conveniences which include saving time and making us feel comfortable. At the same time, it created new problems and air pollution is at the top of the list. Until now, we have not had effective solutions for the treatment of exhaust fumes yet, thus parents should foster the next generations’ concern for environmental protection by using cycles or walking to school. In addition, to provide for the family, parents worked hard so using cars and arranging to drop off and collect their children at school showed their love and effort to bring the best thing for them. However, a coin has two sides, this may lead to the decline of dependent ability, they gradually form negative habits which, more transparently, are connected with a sedentary lifestyle and passive life and not initiative. Many used this way to supervise and ensure the safety of their children nevertheless they limited the development of sociability of their offspring. While others go to school together by walking or cycling, they could create more memories and be more sympathetic to each other. Moreover, after school, a stream of people gather at the gate place, the appearance of loads of cars will increase the risk of traffic jams. Especially, because of the difference between better-off and poor families, students may divide into some distinct groups and the gap between them exists fairly clear, and the equality becomes difficult to uphold. Weighing up both sides of the argument, I believe the policy of school authorities regarding discouraging this trend is reasonable. Parents should mull over issues and have suitable adjustments.