Modern high technology is transforming how we work and is of benefit to all society.

Nowadays, the continuous development in modern technology affects many aspects of our lives. For instance, we wash our clothes using a washing machine, we cook foods using a stove or a microwave oven, we travel using cars or aeroplanes, and we even build houses using machines and modern tools. From simple to complex tasks, we are dependent on technology. Hence, some will agree that technology makes our lives a lot easier and comfortable. However, despite the benefits that it brings, I believe that this development is less beneficial to human society especially on how it affects human productivity in terms of work. This argument is supported by stating the ill- effects of technology to society. First and foremost, the emergence of technology creates a negative effect on human skills enhancement. For example, the majority of the students prefers to use the internet in doing scientific research and solving mathematical equations instead of utilising their critical thinking skills. This impedes self-development and growth through lack of practice. Secondly, people tend to become more and more dependent on technology to the point that some would fail to complete tasks without the assistance of computer and machines. This can be illustrated by the incidence that occurred last year here in Manila. Many companies failed to meet their desired quota because machines do not work without electricity. Workers are not well trained and cannot meet production without the assistance of computers and machines. Moreover, due to technology, there are fewer job opportunities for vast workers. This happens because most of the business men invest on machines than hiring workers. They believe that machines are cheaper than paying skilled and trained workers it is resulting in a high rate of unemployed. Lastly, technology affects people's connection and passion in doing their job. For instance, in the past, clothes are woven manually by women, now they use the sewing machine instead. With the use of these machines, they lost their personal touch to the clothes that they have created. In summary, the drawbacks of modern technology further outweigh its benefits. Therefore, we should learn how to balance and be more critical in utilising it.