The proliferation of private cars on the roads in many parts of the world has led to serious problems of pollution and may contribute to global warming. Some people think that governments should spend money for the development of public transportation systems in order to help alleviate this problem. Others think it is better to spend money for the development of electric and other types of cars that may cause less pollution.

Pollution from automobiles is a major concern in the modern society, especially due to the increasing number of cars on the road. This is one of the major causes for the climate change problem the world is facing today. To address this issue, it is better for the governments to build a reliable and convenient public transportation infrastructure instead of spending money on the development of pollutionless cars. Bases for my views this solution is economical and social. From the economical perspective, public transportation systems are cheaper choices for the people and affordable for all classes of the society. For instance, the MRT system in Singapore helps millions of people to travel daily with comfort and convenience. In addition, it generates revenue for the government as it requires one-time capital investment to set up a mass transportation system like a metro train system and to get a recurring income thereafter. In addition, such a transport system helps the public to save money in travelling and reducing their cost of living. From the social perspective, public transport system helps the society in many ways. Less traffic on road means fewer accidents, and thus creates a safety living environment. Moreover, the roads are freely available for critical life-saving services like fire accidents, medical emergency and police operations. Also, a public transport system helps to unite all classes of people in the society by providing a uniform means of commuting.   On the other hand, the private vehicles, which are of different quality and cost for the rich, average and the poor, displays the economic gap within the public in society. In conclusion, even though pollutionless cars are good for the environment, a good public transport system is a better choice for its residents because it is not only environment-friendly but also accessible for all in the community. Hence governments should spend money to develop robust public transport systems.