Modern building change the character and appearance of towns and cities. The government should insist that new buildings be built in traditional styles to protect cultural identity.

Over the last decade, there has been a change in the design and appearance of buildings around the world. Some people believe that it should be constructed in a traditional style to preserve their cultural heritage. In my opinion, I completely disagree with this view because culture is dynamic, and would discourage new innovations. culture is not static. The current look of structures in the countryside is not the same centuries ago. Houses were built with clay or plant leaves, and today it is with cement or bricks. For example, in 1884 houses but in rural areas were made of mud and bamboo. If we prevent the building with modern designs we will be limiting our abilities to develop culture, and this would hinder growth. To encourage new ideas, people should be allowed to construct buildings to have a modern appearance. Also, the new look helps us to differentiate the cities from the rural areas. Moreover, these innovations result from tackling challenges face the some regions. For instance, in Lagos, skyscrapers are built to help overcome the limited land available. And if the introduction of new technology were discouraged it would be impossible to solve this problem. In conclusion. although some people think that to protect their cultural identity the government should enforce designs of build be made in traditional style, I believe that it is has a negative effect on society. That means this would discourage people from developing new ideas, and there would be no growth in our culture.