Mobile phones and the Internet are used by millions of people every day, but old people use these forms of technology the least. In what ways can mobile phones and the Internet be helpful for older people? What measures can be taken to encourage older people to use them more?

In current era consumption of mobile and internet is increased rapidly amoung yound and middle age people. On the other hand senior citizens avoid to use all forms of modern technology due to various reasons such as lack of knowledge, uncomfortable with these technologies etc. Today's busy life style its hard for people to find time to visit their parents or grand parents homes as they used to do few years ago, Therefore by knowing how to operate mobile phone would be help to elderly person to communicate with his relations in a easy way. Furthermore most of the people moved out to cities or another countries for their jobs or studies. Therefore though mobile and internet senior citizens can talk with their loved ones through skype or WhatsApp as face to face where as helps them to feel that they are no alone. In addition to above mentioned point it would be hard go out and get groceries or shopping. But through online shopping they can get delivered groceries without any hassle. Furthermore they can use internet if they want to watch movie or read a book. However due to their age, it's hard for them to learn something new. therefore its better to promote these new technologies to elderly people by providing with simple features. For an exemplify mobiles with larger keyboards with basic functionalities, laptops with touch screen or larger tabs would be helpful for them to access. In conclusion, even though its harder to persuade senior person to use new technology, but we should encourage them to use these in order to make their life easy and smooth.