It is believed that the advent of modern communication technology is mainly responsible for the decline in young students’ writing and reading performances.

It is believed that the advent of modern communication technology is mainly responsible for the decline in young students’ writing and reading performances. While it might hold an element of truth in this statement, I think these high-tech devices could have a positive impact on improving the language skills among young learners. On the one hand, today’s communication gadgets offer a wide range of convenient features that may compromise students’ writing and reading skills. First, the predictive text and autocorrect tools means that users don’t have to type words in full form as the keyboard would make possible word choices for them, and it wouldn’t matter if words are misspelled since they will be corrected anyway. These might save plenty of time when chatting online via message applications such as Whatsapp and Line but the real issue will certainly arise when exams have to be carried out with handwriting and students suddenly realize they have forgotten how to spell even a simple word. Not only this will jeopardize their academic performance but also weaken the education system where high-level students still make basic mistakes which are believed to only happen among junior students. Second, the youth spending the majority of their day playing games, watching videos and texting with their virtual friends indicates less time being diverted towards the reading activities. Reading novels and news articles now only serve the purpose of helping students do well in tests and are no longer considered to be a source of pleasure and knowledge enhancement. This in the long run might cause detrimental consequences to the average reading comprehension among the younger generations. On the other hand, the benefits that technology development bring to the world in terms of resources and information cannot be overlooked. Various applications provide the Internet users more freedom in expressing themselves. Wordpress and Livejournal are two of numerous platforms that users can publish posts and articles about traveling, cuisine, personal experiences to name a few. By being active on these sites, Internet enthusiasts can contribute to the public property as well as hone their writing capability. Moreover, communication apps are an ideal environment for language learners to improve their reading and writing level by chatting with native speakers. In conclusion, modern technology should not be completely blamed for the students’ reading and writing underperformance. It’s rather about each individual ‘s self-control and the ultimate question of whether one wants to make full use of the technology to their advantage or become its victim.