Memorising facts is the most important way to succeed in education. with this statement?

One of the traditional methods in which students can use to learn something is remembering. Although it is necessary, I believe that the learner needs to combine as many methods as they can in studying to get a higher score. A psychology teacher named Marc Smith says: "The more you repeat the thing you want to learn, the stronger the connection between the neurons of the brain become". Memorisation therefore can be a foundation of learning. Then, they can get higher thinking which helps them perform better in the exam. That is a reason I can understand why some people think that learner must commit facts or amount of things to their memory. In others perspective, if people who are in education do not understand the given knowledge, they can easily forget it. Thus, what is the point of learning? Remembering is just the first thing and they need to do more things for their studying desire. They must know exactly what is the thing they are taught. For instance, English students can memorize the word: Deception but they do not understand when they can use it and they fail. A learner has to have practical application and the capability of solving problems with their knowledge. In conclusion, memorization is essential in teaching and learning. However, it is not the most important thing which people must do to get a higher result in school and university. The most crucial step for successful learning is trying to study in many different methods and find their own way.