Megacities around the world are becoming overpopulated day after day. What are the primary causes of this? How does it affects?

Population in all the big cities of the world is increasing sharply. Although, job opportunities and increasing number of malls, cinemas and food outlets are reasons why people are preferring big cities but various types of pollution and unemployment are its side effects also. To begin with, great employment opportunity and large number of cinemas, shopping malls, fast food restaurants are the main causes of overpopulation. Moreover, people from small villages and towns are not able to earn even half of what the individuals are earning in big towns and cities, hence they prefer to shift from their native village. It is also believed that apart from high salary, there are a large number of amenities such as big shopping malls which helps people to purchase everything from a single place unlike villages where they have to go various places to purchase all the things. For example, according to the research conducted by the Oxford University, the people in big cities were earning around 12 lakh rupees annually while those living in villages were earning merely 2 lakhs. Thus, high salary and easy purchasing attracts more and more people from small towns. On the contrary, overpopulation has resulted in gain of pollution levels and unemployment. Furthermore, the number of vehicles such as cars, bikes has escalated significantly which not only causes air pollution but also noise pollution. Also, due to the rapid and mass movement of people, unemployment is increasing day by day which in turn result in more crimes. To exemplify, a report published in the Times Of India newspaper, showed that unemployment have risen by 17 % from 2010 to 2020 due to the rapid migration of individuals from small to big towns. Therefore, pollution and unemployment are the primary effects of the overpopulation. To sum up, it can be vividly manifested that, though towns and cities provide great job opportunities and ease to purchase anything and everything at a single place, but it has contributed in pollution, unemployment and crimes.