Nowadays traffic jams are common across all the city’s in the world why is it so what can be some possible solutions?

In this modern era, traffic congestion is becoming increasingly frequent in urban regions all over the world because of a variety of reasons, which need to be identified so that this problem can be solved. I will elaborate this notion in the subsequent paragraphs. To begin with, there are a number of reasons for the increasing traffic jams. Firstly, in adequate public transport is one of the reasons that people choose to travel by private vehicles and the usage of these private vehicles leads to an increase in traffic on the roads. Secondly, office timings are usually the same and there is a lot of rush hour traffic in mornings and in evenings. Thirdly, it is becoming easier and cheaper by the day to get car loans because of which more people are buying cars. Fourthly, there are potholes on the road in many city’s because the roads are poorly maintained which slowed down the traffic. Lastly, in some places there is insufficient staff in the traffic police. Therefore, people do not obey traffic rules leading to chaotic and slow traffic. However, certain measures can help solve this problem of traffic jams. To begin with, authorities should make good public transport system a priority. Increase the usage of public transport will not only reduce traffic jams, but it will also have the added benefit of decrease in air pollution. Moreover, the government can have rules which do not allow one household to have more than two cars. Another option is to increase the taxes on private vehicles. Further more, offices can have flexible timings for their employees and if possible, the employee should have the option of working from home. Last but not the least, most and well-trained traffic personnel and better maintenance of roads will go a long way in better management of traffic. To conclude, traffic jams are a major issue worldwide but this can be solved by the joint efforts of the general public and the government.