o ochieve o bolonce befween lheir work ond lives, but few people ochieve it. who] ore the couses of this probtem? How lo overcome il

An incredible amount of energy has been spent chasing the ideal work life balance, but most people fail to achieve it. This essay intends to discuss the possible reasons for this, and also suggest ways to overpower this problem. The first reason for the inability to achieve a work life balance is the technology of today. we are more reachable than ever in the past. Work has gone global, and competition has gone stiffer. The cell-phone has thinned the line between personal and professional lives. The second blame goes to the materialistic society of today. People want to avail all the luxuries of life, and in that quest they become workaholics and then that attitude becomes a way of life, because the desires go on increasing and increasing. Furthermore, people cannot achieve a work-life balance because the definition of a work-life balance is different for different people. People weave together their personal life with their professional life to get the best of life. What works for one person may not work for another. Making choices is what the balance between work and life is all about. There may be times when the choice between moving ahead with your career takes a back seat to your health or happiness at home. The priorities you identifo as important keep changing and that is why achieving a perfect work-life balance is difficult. The solutions are not simple. we must try to introspect and see what makes us happy and then set priorities in life. When we come home from work, we must learn to switch the office button off. Another key is adopting some flexibility. lt never works if we are too rigid with the goals we set for ourselves. Last but not least, there is a beautiful term, 'downshifting', which means we should learn when enough is enough and then we all begin to enjoy life in its true form. To sum up, work life balance is perceived in a different light by us all, and so achieving a perfect work life