undoubtedly, technology like a double-edged sword has both benefits and drawbacks and

undoubtedly, technology like a double-edged sword has both benefits and drawbacks and when selecting it should weigh them together. a controversial question that has been aroused the attention of society is whether using modern technology to produce crops is affordable as compared to its environmental expense. a number of experts advocate the statement and others think the opposite is true. I also disagree with the statement and I will elaborate on my reason in the following paragraphs. to begin with, environment and agriculture are not separate parts. in fact, the ecosystem is a set of related components that any undesirable change in one component has a detrimental effect on the other parts. there are many reports showing that drying lakes, deforestation that humans have done to extend their farmland, not only have led to decreasing agricultural crops but also decreases animals and plants living in the surroundings. hence if humans want to produce sustainable crops, they should first protect the environment. besides the above mentioned, developing agriculture does not contradict environmental protection. Throughout history, humans use various methods to improve agricultural outputs that a number of methods have been the unfriendly environment, hence humans replaced them with healthier methods. for instance, using chemical fertilizers and pesticides led to contaminate underwater and consequently posed threat to humans' life and other living species. nowadays these ways have been changed and biotechnical methods have been replaced in a way that with gene modification the plants will become more stamina against agricultural decline. factoring above mentioned it can conclude that in order to sustainable development, humans should consider environmental issues